Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual OBOB Event: Invisible

October 23, 2023 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Free

PLEASE NOTE NEW DATE AND TIME!

Join us for 13 FREE VIRTUAL events to chat with authors from the 2023-2024 OBOB list! RSVP through Eventbrite here.


Invisible

For fans of New Kid and Allergic, a must-have graphic novel about five very different students who are forced together by their school to complete community service… and may just have more in common than they thought.

Can five overlooked kids make one big difference?

There’s George: the brain

Sara: the loner

Dayara: the tough kid

Nico: the rich kid

And Miguel: the athlete

And they’re stuck together when they’re forced to complete their school’s community service hours. Although they’re sure they have nothing in common with one another, some people see them as all the same . . . just five Spanish-speaking kids.

Then they meet someone who truly needs their help, and they must decide whether they are each willing to expose their own secrets to help . . . or if remaining invisible is the only way to survive middle school.

With text in English and Spanish, Invisible features a groundbreaking format paired with an engaging, accessible, and relatable storyline. This Breakfast Club–inspired story by Christina Diaz Gonzalez, award-winning author of Concealed, and Gabriela Epstein, illustrator of two Baby-Sitters Club graphic novel adaptations, is a must-have graphic novel about unexpected friendships and being seen for who you really are.


Christina Diaz Gonzalez is the Edgar Award-winning author of Concealed, Moving Target, The Red Umbrella and A Thunderous Whisper. She is the author of the graphic novel Invisible, with Gabriela Epstein. Her books have received numerous honors and recognitions including the Florida Book Award and the Nebraska Book Award. They have also been named the American Library Association’s Best Fiction for Young Adults, a Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People, and the International Reading Association’s Teachers’ Choice. Learn more at christinagonzalez.com.


Gabriela Epstein is the creator of the New York Times bestselling graphic novel adaptation of Claudia and the New Girl by Ann M. Martin. She graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design with a degree in illustration and has worked as a character designer for TV animation. When she isn’t making comics, she enjoys yo-yoing, listening to spooky podcasts, and watching historical documentaries. She lives in Austin, Texas. Visit her online at gre-art.com.

Details

Date:
October 23, 2023
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Website:
https://fallobobevents2023.eventbrite.com/

Organizer

Roundabout Books
Phone:
5413066564
Email:
julie@roundaboutbookshop.com
View Organizer Website

Venue

Roundabout Books
900 NW Mt Washington Dr
Bend, OR 97703 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
15413066564
View Venue Website