« Home

9TH ANNUAL LOCAL AUTHORS NIGHT

Saturday, January 25, 2020, 2:00 AM - 4:00 AM


We look forward to our 9th Local Authors Night at Roundabout Books! Join us for a wonderful panel of six Oregon-based authors and their incredibly diverse books. Each author will speak for approximately 15 minutes and then available for questions and signing at the end of the event.

Ration by Cody Luff

In a world where even paper must be resused until it falls apart, the most valuable commodity becomes flesh. Set in the far future, Ration is an unflinching take on the ways society can harm the very people it seeks to protect.

Dark of the Tomorrow II: Cult of the Crow by Jeremiah Franklin

Kill or be killed is the new normal for Sawyer, Sara, and the survivors of the deadly virus that has all but annihilated the human race. With the death of Sara’s father and the disappearance of the strange boy known as Mason, the teens are left reeling, but alongside the enigmatic ex-Marine, Edward, they soon forge an alliance with a collection of young survivors led by the sage and charismatic Kai. Nevertheless, when their new companions begin to mysteriously disappear, the group is once again thrown into a desperate struggle for survival, where only the most cunning and relentless will prevail. Ultimately, among whispers of top-secret military bunkers, lost gold, and a shadowy group known as the Cult of the Crow, Sawyer and Sara must face the grim realization that death and betrayal lurks in every corner, and when it comes to the end of the world--nothing is what it seems.

Dark Tomorrow II: Cult of the Crow is an action-packed dystopian novel for fans of Netflix's The Society, CW's The 100, and How it Ends.

Harvey Havoc: The Future of Havoc by Avery Bell

Officer Harvey Havoc is just trying to survive long enough to fulfill his three years of mandatory service with the Motor City Police Department. An unexpected free-fall through political red tape after a drug bust goes awry lands Harvey in the homicide unit. Paired with a wild and street savvy new partner, he plunges headlong into their first case. As the killer’s motives start to unravel Harvey and his new partner must fight drugged out Techies, cleaver Hackers and vicious killers. Can they dredge the corruption from the very heart of Motor City? When the dust settles, one thing is for sure: the future is Havoc.

War Under the Mango Tree by Glenn Voelz

At a remote military camp in Africa, a small detachment of American soldiers and their local allies wage a high-tech manhunt to neutralize the notorious warlord Daniel Odoki and defeat his rebel army. As the quixotic campaign unfolds, a cast of glory-seeking generals, rapacious mercenaries, and corrupt government officials are determined to finish off Odoki, though each for different reasons. Meanwhile, a hapless band of compatriots, pawns in a mysterious shadow war, race to discover the truth about Odoki before it’s too late.

In the tradition of writers such as Joseph Heller, Kurt Vonnegut, and Evelyn Waugh, War Under the Mango Tree exposes the absurdities of modern warfare as it intersects with media culture, technology, politics, and big business. The result is a darkly painted satire of war, money, and corruption on the far-flung reaches of Pax Americana.

Bend Beer: A History of Brewing in Central Oregon by Jon Abernathy

With more breweries per capita than any other Oregon city, Bend is a beer mecca. Prior to Prohibition, the state had a burgeoning brewing industry and plenty of saloons to cater to the needs of the hardy frontiersmen who settled Central Oregon. The teetotaling '20s brought all that to a screeching halt. Fifty years later, the arrival of pioneers like Deschutes Brewery and Bend Brewing Company breathed new life into Bend's beer and brought about the booming industry for which the area is known today. Author and "The Brew Site" creator Jon Abernathy traces Bend and Central Oregon's hoppy history from early settlement to the present day, sharing the stories behind its most famous breweries and the communities that have fostered the industry.

Phone: (541) 306-6564
Event url: www.roundaboutbookshop.com/event/9th-annual-local-authors-night

Improve this event listing

Venue

900 N.W. Mt. Washington Dr.
Bend, OR 97703

View Map | Get Directions

More Event Ideas


Powered by Datasphere

Free Coupons in Bend, OR Add Your Coupon to LocalSaver

Close

What can we do for you?

Thank you for your input. Please fill out the form below and provide as much information as possible about updates to this event or venue.

Send